‘Trinketisation’

28 Aug

Following a good Summer break and time and space for some solid reflection on my practice, I’ve been reminded of John Hutnyk’s inclusion of my ‘Keeping It Together’ post in his own blog about Trinketisation:

http://hutnyk.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/kate-murdochs-home-trinkets-collections-and-dust/

John Hutnyk is Professor and Academic Director of the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths College, University of London, UK.

Two Summers on, my studio’s still crammed full and I’m still surrounded by the assorted accumulated objects and collections I’ve gathered over the years.  What do they mean to me?  Personally and emotionally?  And now, as opposed to then when I first started storing them away?  Why have I kept them?  How has the passing of time affected my feelings about them?  What will I do with them?

What do they mean to the world at large – socially and politically?

Some of the objects have seen the light of day for the first time in many years and it’s been a joy to rediscover and reacquaint myself with them.  Others on the other hand, have brought back some unhappy memories, causing momentary disturbances to the process of sorting.

Time to continue the journey of surprises and uncertainties …

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

